In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Of late in several nations, a trend has been begun and the young people are advocated to take a gap of year after finishing high school and starting university studies. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages, which are worth considering.

There are two main benefits for the students who are decided to work or travel before starting their university studies. Firstly, students decided to travel will expose to new culture and environment and this will expand their horizons. Thus, they will gain a deeper understanding of the world and they can get an idea how economy play a key role in building the world. Second, students can gain the money if they choose to work after the high school. This would help them to stand financially independent and fund on their own for university studies. In addition to the money, students get a chance to demonstrate the skills earned in high school in their work.

On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, people may get homesick because of the travelling and it may cause some depression. On top of that, this could be the first time a student is travelling alone. Thus, he may take some time to communicate with the new culture people and understand the surroundings of the new place. Additionally, students who started to work may not want to return their studies because they are already earning the money. Therefore, their whole future could be negatively affected, as these days it is very important for everyone to graduate with a degree in order to be competitive in the job market.

In convulsion, if students take a year gap, they could learn imperative experience and learn to financially independent. However, they may also become homesick and end up not continuing their studies. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits against the drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether students should go on such an adventure.