In many country, good schools and medical facilities are available only in cities. Some people think university graduates who become new teachers and doctors should work in rural areas for a few decades. What is your view?

It is sometimes argued that doctors and teachers fresh out of universities should be required to work in rural regions for several decades. While I admit that this scheme makes sense to some extent, I do believe that having such mandatory service could backfire. (没有be)

I can understand why some people want newly-graduated doctors and teachers to work in the countryside. For people living in rural areas, if the government makes working in the countryside compulsory for new doctors and teachers, many of whom would otherwise work in large cities for a lucrative career, they would be on a position to access advanced medical care and education services provided by well-educated professionals. It therefore could be argued that this policy could serve the function of extending rural dwellers' life expectancy, fostering the next generation possessing expertise and knowledge, and therefore boosting local economic growth. For doctors and teachers who are fresh from universities, working in rural areas would provide them the opportunity of translating theoretical knowledge into practice and advancing practical skills, thus building up their confidence early on in their careers. Such chances are less available in the working world in urban areas where many experienced senior doctors and teachers dominate the workplace, leaving few opportunities of hands-on learning for newcomers.

Nevertheless, I still believe that the benefit of forcing university graduates to work in rural areas could not justify its negative impacts. Firstly, such mandatory service is unfair for students graduating with huge students loans that require them to pay off as the salaries in underdeveloped areas are generally lower than that in big cities. Secondly, it would cause resentment and demotivation among young physicians and teachers who are sent to rural regions against their will, leading to job dissatisfaction and undesirable working performance.

Lastly, the greater concern is that when it comes time for these doctors and teachers to relocate to cities, they may find it difficult to catch up with the rapidly changing work environment in developed areas after working for several decades in rural areas where have limited access to cutting-edge technology and continual education.

In conclusion, although it is not unreasonable to require doctors and teachers who newly graduate from universities to work in the countryside, to my mind, having such requirement compulsory could do more harm than good.