Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Is it a positive development?

Nowadays, tourist industries are being increased expenditure on by numerous developing countries. Although this improvement brings plenty of benefits, I would argue that it has some adverse effects.

On the one hand, a large number of advantages can easily be seen from improving this industry, especially those developing countries. First of all, the tourist industry probably gains many profits for countries in case that government invests approximately in it. Some newly destination in developing countries, for example, Bangkok in Thailand or Da Nang in Vietnam are becoming more and more attractive for tourists and those apparently brings a great amount of wealth for countries, and with that capital, developing countries have potential to spend on other industries. Secondly, the tourist industry not only accumulates much wealth but also acquiring a reputation for countries. Reputation is really crucial for developing countries by virtue of attracting investment from foreign business, development of the service industry, the chance of co-operating with other countries,….

On the other hand, expanding the tourist industry presumably suffers some drawbacks. Initially, plenty of tourist attractions have been damaged dramatically by visitors. For instance, many islands, beaches, and rivers are filled with rubbish which was thrown by the visitors and it is causing environmental pollution and individuals’ health problems. This is a hot issue in the tourist industry and it needs to be deal with as fast as possible. Moreover, enormous unknown destinations such as resorts, hotels,… are abandoned for a long time which costs much money because of inaccurate expenditure.

In conclusion, despite improving tourist industries are essential for developing countries at the hand of those benefits, this industry has some disadvantages which must be come up with.