Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Many underdeveloped countries are currently expandind their tourism sectors. There is a host of reasons for this phenomenon and personally, I think this has a negative impact on the environment of the country.

The expansion of tourism sectors can be ascribed to economy's benefits, boost relationships and exchange culture between different countries. Regarding to the former, tourists visting one developing country have a high demand for goods and services, and are mostly willing to pay higher than average prices. Hence, this can boost a country's economy and eventually enhance the living standard of people. On the second point, people in developing countries do not have much chance to to acquire new knowledge about other countries's culture due to their limit in Internet , especially in rural areas. Therefore, by promoting tourism industries, travellers from different cultures can provide ethnic people, for instance, who are almost completely isolated from the outside world, can broaden their horizon about new things on the outside world. In turn, ethnic people can introduce their traditionals beliefs and cultures for travellers such as their festivals, traditional food,etc.

However, I opine that this phenomenon can leave a severe in impact on the environment of one country. First of all, the hordes of tourists from foreign countries often litter wherever they go and do not bother to clean after themselves in areas they have visited. As a result, this can lead to dirty roads and clogged sewage system in these places, which negatively and directly affects indigenous people's living conditions. In terms of indirect effects, the indigenous people have to sacrifice their resources to accommodate tourists's insatiable demands. In several mountainoua areas of Vietnam, local people cut down a vast area of forest to make handicrafts or furniture for tourisrs. As a consequence, this has led to environmental degradation in remote areas.

In conclusion, the expansion of tourism sectors in underdeveloped countries is attributable to several reasons in terms of boosting economy and exchanging culture among countries, however, this phenomenon has had some adverse impacts on the environment of those countries.