Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

The tourism industry is one of the fastest-growing businesses all over the world. Not only poor and undeveloped countries but even rich ones are also promoting tourism like never before. Multiple nations are not economically sound but rich in natural beauty and have splendid places to visit. Economies of many such countries purely depend on the tourism business. In my opinion, this is positive progress and I will elaborate on the positive and negative impacts in my essay below.

The tourism industry has a significant impact on the economy of a country as well as on economies of the local communities. When visitors visit someplace and spend their money on different things such as living, eating and roaming, they financially help locals. Also, when foreigners visit, they bring their currency along with them which helps the overall economy of that country.

However, people tend to destroy a beautiful place before moving to the next one. For instance, nowadays everyone wants to climb Mount Everest and even those who don’t have any prior experience of climbing. A research report shows that more than 800 people get buried there in the snow every year because of this reason. Also, many others leave behind plastic bottles, tent and other pieces of equipment which detrimentally affect the environment. To prevent scenarios like this, tourism authorities must ensure that rules and regulations are being followed strictly and should allow only limited experienced visitors.

In essence, promoting tourism is a positive advancement and it only helps countries and countrymen in every possible way. Also as people prefer to visit popular places, promoting famous places helps them to decide and plan their vacation trip accordingly, which eventually brings in more money in the country.