Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, most of the countries have one main motif of raising their capital as economic standard is one of the most significant criterias to judge a nation's development. Yet, there are other people who hold the opinion that other sections of progress have equal importance.

As far as my opinion is concerned, I strongly advocate the latter ideology. This essay will discuss both the views and use examples from a report published by UN, California and from a survey conducted by prominent Psychological department of Montreal.

Today's society has became extremely judgemental and majority of judgements passed are based on wealth any person or country owns. Many people believe that in order to have a happy nation, government should provide more employment opportunities so that people will be able to make more money. They believe that any country's development depend upon it's gross national income. But this belief contradicts a study performed in Montreal.

Psychological department of Months held a survey in 2016 where they tested the satisfaction level of rich families in different countries. The results were immensely surprising as 60% of the people said they were not as happier as they thought they would be once they would accumulate wealth. They still lacked the reasons to be happy about. When asked about the reasons behind this, researcher said that better economic conditions do not mean that a person would be content.

This belief was supported by the people who thought that other factors are also responsible for progression of country, like better living standards, health conditions, clean environment, safe neighborhood, better food facilities etc. Physical well being should be considered as one of the important aspects for development of country as if a person is not healthy then there is no point of generating more money. Also safety in neighborhood contributes to the the overall development of a country as well, as fear in citizens will abate the unity among them.

Also, economic conditions of a country is only judged according to certain rich families. Meanwhile, the areas like slum regions are often ignored albeit they are omnipotent. This was also reported by UN in 2019 that developed nations like America, Japan, China and so on, have more number of people living in worst conditions, like ghettos than the ones not considered as rich countries. Thereof, other types of progress are equally, infact more important than economic as they take into account the responses of every part of the countries.

To conclude, from the above arguments and examples, I corroborate the opinion that along with economic progress, other types should be taken into account by the government. This is likely to happen as various countries are giving more attention to increase their overall progressive index which includes all the important aspects including, economic, physical heath, happiness and so on.