Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, it is clearly evident that we live more fulfilling lives than people did a few decades ago. While many governments are of the opinion that the economic progress they show is the most vital achievement, some people think that other types of progress may be crucial for society.

It is certainly true that one of the main aims of governments is to create jobs for the people and to reduce unemployment. The majority of governments want to improve the economic situation in their country and to increase people’s wages and standards of living. Furthermore, the increasing purchasing power and higher amount of money spent on entertainment may indicate the economic growth in the country. Thus economic progress is a very important issue in today's society.

However, there are other factors that may encouragingly affect people’s lives nowadays. Firstly, better living and working conditions may make people feel more confident and happy. Secondly, established social infrastructures such as speed highways, modern airports, parks, shopping centers, theaters, and cinemas are other benefits provided in the most developed countries. Moreover, wide-ranging health care, free medical treatments, post surgery recovery help and various social security rights such as help for people with disabilities delivered by governments may also impact positively on people’s life expectancy.

Therefore, I believe that although a main aim of governments is to provide high economic standards of living, there are obviously further factors that affect people's lives. The best situation would be for economic progress to be supported by other kinds of social progress.