As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Today we live in a very competitive world. Life expenses in metropolises like Moscow, London, and New York are increasing day by day. Thus, to afford a decent life standard and sustain families, the vast majority of people have to spend most of their lifetime at workplaces. This is why job satisfaction is a crucial mark of wellbeing in today's society.

There are several fundamental purposes which may improve people’s job satisfaction nowadays. First and foremost, any kind of job must be well-paid, so people would be able to fulfill their dreams and spend their work time with a great pleasure, but not with the stress of thinking about earning enough to make the ends meet. Secondly, there are some emotional values which are essential too. For example, positive atmosphere, supportive and great-hearted colleagues obviously impact our mood and desire to do our jobs in the best way we can. In addition, achieving everyday job challenges, the feeling of being a valuable employee and climbing a professional ladder reasonably well, make the company better place to work for.

However, the realities of today’s work life are reasonably different. Moreover, attractive work conditions cannot be provided for every worker in a company. Since some jobs such as a loader, handyman, housemaid and so on which are low paid, the people who do those jobs are supposed to be unsatisfied. Even more important, some of the low paid jobs may be at best boring, and at worst be insecure. Unfortunately, these jobs are in demand among work migrants which are not able to qualify for a highly paid job.

Finally, I would like to say that it is not possible for every person to get the satisfaction in their jobs. The main reason is there are various types of people who work in the same place, and mostly they do not have the same working conditions and benefits.