Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

Over the recent years, the popularity of air services has been in demand. Some people claim that air traffic causes inevitable pollution; others see the other side of the coin. I disagree that government bodies are obliged to decrease air traffic using taxation.

To begin with, if the state increases the taxes, it will significantly affect lower-class people. They will not travel as much as they did before because of the inability to afford tickets. In fact, many families with children will suffer. Some parents might have promised to take the child to popular resort ”Disney World” in the USA or to ski in the mountains in Eastern Europe, but will be forced to refuse them. In addition to this, taxing only lower-class people will emphasize the severity of other issues of these days- the inequalities between humans. It is undoubtedly imposing taxes only on several numbers of people is unfair. As a result, it may make them feel humiliated and discontent with the air services.

Secondly, governments need to consider reexamining the approach to the eco-system. There is a variety of pollutions, for instance, traffic from buses, cars, and trains should be the primary concern. It is unreasonable to suggest that it is a more common problem which requires more attention. Many cosmopolitan cities are more likely to get polluted from the above-mentioned types of pollutions than air pollution.  Moreover, it can lead to long-term effects on their health, especially on the respiratory system.

One could draw the conclusion that the taxation should be equally distributed according to income levels among all classes of people. Governments ought to identify the problems related to traffic and select the appropriate ones to work on.