Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that the growth of a nation is only measured by the economic growth, therefore many governments are focusing more on their economic progress rather than other aspects. However, some people disagree with the statement, as they believe that there are other matters which are important as well. The following essay will discuss both views in details.

On the one hand, it is a fact that many governments are giving more attention to economic development compared to other sectors. It is mainly due to the fact that economic growth plays an important role in the development of a nation. When a country's economic sector grows, it means that business transactions are increasing, new job opportunities are being created and the government is getting more funds through taxes. The funds could be used for the improvement of other sectors such as education, public infrastructures and military services.

On the other hand, even though economic growth plays an essential part, governments must also ensure that other sectors are developing as well. The economic condition of a country will not grow without the support of a secure social condition, better political condition and advanced educational system. Investors will not place their investment in countries that have an insecure political condition such as in North Korea or Iraq. And then, without the existence of educated and skilled workers, it will be difficult for a country to improve their industrial and trade activities. Therefore, the growth of the economic sectors should be aligned with other important sectors as well.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that economic growth plays an important role in the development of a nation. Consequently, many governments are giving more attention to the economic sector compare to the others. I personally believe that besides economic there are other sectors which are important as well, such as education and social welfare and political condition. These sectors should also be developed with the economic sector.