Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, numerous governments endeavor to build a prosperous future. Hence, a vigorous debate has been sparked over whether economic growth is the major objective. It seems to me that economic growth is crucial, but other measures, such as social development, absolutely essential.

First, economic progress has a great significance. This is due to it provides more job opportunities, so that abject poverty might be eradicated, which contributes to distributing income equitably. For example, Japan, which has one of the most powerful economies, has the lowest unemployment rate since their economy has been grown. Moreover, by dint of economic growth, governments could enhance the public service and improve infrastructure. As a result, not only does the progress of economy create more jobs, but it also uplifts standards of living.

However, social development is one of the major aims as well that cannot be overlooked. The primary cause is that social development can safeguard human rights, and this can lead to retaining personal integrity and human dignity. Therefore, this may eradicate racial segregation. Furthermore, social development could improve quality of life because it ensures equal gender opportunity. According to a recent study published in 2009, Finland is one of the best places to live in because it has equal gender opportunity, and it is unlikely to suffer from discrimination. Thereby considering social development assists to have a high quality of life.

In conclusion, economic progress plays an increasingly important role in many countries. Nonetheless, I believe that economic development is as significant as economic progress.