Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is a common belief that economic progress plays the vital role in countries’ development and benefits the residents, I hold the view that other forms of progress are also as important goals as the former one.

There are numerous reason for authorities to consider economic progress the most important part in the development of nations. Initially, this progress is the most ubiquitous measurement status among nations, base on which, each country could be ranked respectively. Furthermore, every nations need to operate all of critical activities regarding residents’ well-being, safety and benefit. The more money financial progress can provide, the better the operation quality serve. Finally, effective economy progress in one nation could lead to improving in education, health, national defense and so on, which contribute greatly to the growth of the country and provide better living standard to people in that place.

Nevertheless, there are also numerous people in favor of other progress holding the equal role as the former one. Besides financial issues, environmental health is also a worthwhile part to be concerned as people experience health threat everyday in their life but the government only sees numbers. Moreover, money is nothing if people could not stay healthy to register the wealth they made. People should only pay money for health but not vice versa. The last but not least important form of progress to be mentioned is division of the rich and the poor. Take public and private school for instant. There is always s fact that students who are poor but have a chance to study in private school usually suffer from being bullied in at least the first week of the curriculum for being poor. Even if the nation is wealthy, without economic equality, there would still people holding rich and poor prejudice to treat others. And with that behavior, the residents in that country would gain the basic happiness in their life but trying to work harder everyday, not for themselves but for the wealth and the shame of being considered as the poor in society.

In conclusion, in spite of the crucial role of economy progress towards nations’ growth, I hold a firm in the belief that every progress are as essential towards nations’ growth as each other.