Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which cause may health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Consumption of a particularly substantial quantity of sugar which is included in some food and drink may result in various health problems such as obesity or high blood level constituting the precursor of diabetes. There is a suggestion to reduce the expenditure of sugar that the price of sugary products should be increased. As far as I am concerned, I do not concur with this statement because of two following reasons.

In fact, sugar is one of the integral ingredients in the daily meal as it provides plenty of energy that activates several systems as well as muscle in humans. In other words, sugary products bring benefits to human health. Therefore, the price of sugar should be at a plausible level to ensure that individuals can afford them. Moreover, sugary products are not only a source of energy but also necessary for the growth of the body, especially in children. For instance, it is encouraged for children as well as teenagers to drink milk since it triggers the development of the immune system.

What is more? As long as sugary products were expensive, poverty cannot afford them. As a consequence, they suffer from the devoid of essential nutrients, which leads to severe problems such as malnutrition and the short of energy. In other words, they are not strong enough to do their tasks and their productivity decreases as well. In particular, those jobs requiring physical exertion such as construction workers or bricklayers whose allowance is quite low need plenty of energy so sugary products, a tremendous source of energy, should be affordable.

In conclusion, sugar is such a vital ingredient that it is had better distributed to every individual. Therefore, people should propose alternative solutions to reduce the consumption of sugar rather than increase the price of this basic ingredient.