Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people’s daily consumption of sugar has been alarmingly threatening, surpassing the recommended standard from medical experts. This is mainly due to the high amount of sugar contained in food and beverages produced by companies. It is said that these products should be more expensive for people to use less sugar. From my perspective, I disagree with the given statement.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that sugar has detrimental effects on people’s health, causes serious medical problems, and threatens individuals’ lives. To be more specific, sugar is one of the main factors which leads to overweight and obesity in teenagers and adults, creating sedentary lifestyles and an unactive society. Moreover, sugar is a key reason for the increasing number of diabetes patients. As it is widely known, more and more people are exposed to diabetes, concerningly at early ages of life. This will lay pressure on the medical system as well as people’s annual budget for decent treatment. Therefore, it is encouraged to make sugar-based products less reachable to people with a view to obscuring the feasibility of people’s catching dangerous health problems.

However, on the other hand, there are ways of curbing sugar consumption without having to raise the prices of sugary products, which are more effective for both manufacturers and customers. First and foremost, laws and regulations should be enacted to limit the number of sweetened products purchased by obese and diabetes patients. In addition, introducing alternative choices of sugar-free beverages or artificial sweeteners would play a pivotal role in decreasing serious health cases, which eventually improves the social health condition.

In conclusion, despite some compelling explanations for raising the prices of sugary products, I believe there are other proper approaches in solving the current problems.