Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

In the modern era, with a sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy food choices, obesity and other health problems have become more ubiquitous among a bulk of citizens regardless of their genders or age groups. Therefore, some people assert that the government should put more taxes or higher price ranges for sweet food and beverages. In this essay, I would show my approval of this idea by giving reasonable evidence.

To commence with, sugary products have detrimental bearing on the consumers’ health. Scientists have proved that the more sugar we eat, the more calories our bodies have. The excessive calories which can not be released throughout the day will be ended by generating fat for later energy storage. As a matter of fact, fat in the long-term makes people gain weight or even negatively affect the human bloodstream which further leads to severe illnesses such as heart attack. Such scenarios could result in an unhealthy population which bring insurmountable consequences in the nation’ labourforce and social welfare. This, thus, should be avoided by discouraging people to buy those sugary foods and drinks in order to maintain human quality of life.

On the other hand, many people might argue that these actions could have adverse impacts on the companies where high levels of sugar products are produced, and somehow lead to unemployment issues. Admittedly, when putting higher prices for these products, the profit of the companies is potentially damaged which thrives their needs on staff reduction. However, I suggest that these companies could investigate more on local juices or artificial sugary goods. For instance, both multinational companies like Cocacola or Pepsi have already introduced health soft drinks to the public and received optimistic attitudes. In fact, it is likely to have a two-pronged benefit for both customers and the local farmers since their market became wider

In conclusion, I am of strong belief that it is suitable to take measures to address the health problems that sweet stuff can bring to human wellbeing. Moreover, companies should make alterations in order to catch up with the current trend.