Many museum charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are great place to learn about our historical past and visiting them has always been an exciting activity for people. Generally speaking, while some museums have entrance fees some are completely free to explore. On this note, it has always been a point of debate among people whether there should be any ticket price for museums or not. This essay will look at the advantages and disadvantage of the charging money from visitor to museums.

To begin with, museums can generate income for the government, not to mention put an ease on it expenses. Elaborating this, thousands of people visit museums every day and by charging some ticket fees to the museum government can add millions to the national account each day. For example, consider Taxila museum in Taxila, Pakistan; according to one survey about 40000 people visit it every day and if government charge a nominal fee of 100 rupees from each person then it can earn 4 million rupees. This money can then be spend on improving city infrastructure and building more tourist attractions which in turn will bring more tourist to the city and improve its economic conditions.

However on the negative side, charging huge fees can have some negative consequences. While it will increase revenue for the government it can indirectly effect the business of local people. Talking about this, asking for entrance fees from visitor will not only discourage people to visit museums but those that will visit will then spend less on local shops. Consequently, this will cause a decline in the earning opportunities of the locals shop since these visitor make up most of the customers of these shop. For example, when the government of Karachi, Pakistan started charging entrance fees for frere hall art gallery, the shops located around the gallery witnessed a drop of 44% in its sales according to one economic survey by university students.

To summarize, I believe that if government charge nominal fees from visitors that does not avert people from visiting museum then the advantages of having entrance fees to the museum outweigh its disadvantages.