Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is witnessed that the majority of tourists visiting museums and historical destinations are foreigners instead of local people. Firstly, this essay will discuss the causes of this tendency and secondly, it will provide some proper solutions to improve this situation.

On the one hand, the main reason that museums and historical sites are frequently visited by those who are foreigners is due to people’s curiosity. This means that people are extremely accustomed to internal cultures and traditions in their own country and have a strong interest in observing external characteristics, which they have not encountered before. For instance, recent research showed that 80% of individuals who already visited local historical sites tend to visit overseas to fulfill their satisfaction, which has many opportunities to explore new cultural backgrounds. This results in a poorer number of guests who willingly visit local museums or historical sites.

On the other hand, several solutions should be taken into consideration to deal with this issue. First, local people should receive a discount when visiting local museums and historical sites. This is illustrated by the fact that in some parts of the world, the price of a museum ticket for local citizens is half of that for foreigners, and also totally free for local children and students. Second, museums and historical sites should be reinvented or redecorated in their appearance in an attempt to change people’s attitudes towards aged historical buildings or features.

In conclusion, although local historical areas or museums can be uninteresting because being too familiar to local people, proper solutions can have a great impact on improving this situation.