Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places

Statistics represent that tourists are more eager to visit historical sites and museums rather than people of these areas. While numerous reasons exist for this trend, they would be resolved by applying appropriate measures.

Several factors affect travelers' higher interest toward historical places of a region compared to that of local residents. First of all, as the authorities mainly target tourists for their marketing acts, they barely consider local dwellers' awareness to be a matter of concern. Therefore, the locals would prefer to spend their time paying a visit to other attractions outside their vicinity. Furthermore, since travelers are the main source of income for such places, the decision-makers may not bother to prioritize the affordability of visits for the local population. In contrast, they are not usually able to pay for these costs.

Despite the abovementioned factors, the issue would be tackled by performing suitable actions. The first and foremost is to raise awareness among local people about their precious history. Bearing in mind that the locals are more likely to contribute to the improvement of their own historical image, putting such practices into action would not only benefit the individuals but also enhancing the area’s status in the long term. In addition, although allocating subsidies to local residents is seemingly an unnecessary expenditure, this is nothing more than a misconception. Thus, the more they invest in attracting locals, the better their payback will become due to higher rates of visits.

In conclusion, besides the various factors influencing local people's lower interest to visit their own historical monuments, in contrast with tourists, their interest would be triggered by raising awareness and devoting funds by authorities.