Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that some museums ask for an entrance fees while others do not require. While collecting admissions to museums might reduce the number of visitors, I believe that being able to maintain museums outweighs its drawback.

On the one hand, charging money from people to enter a museum has a positive result. This is because the money that is collected are used for the development and operations of the museum. Museums need staff to maintain the cleanliness and orderliness and this is made possible through the money from visitors. They use this for paying salaries of the employees and for buying materials to beautify the museum, which in turn attracts tourists. For instance, one of the museums in our country charge admission fee from the visitors at around 50 pesos to pay electricity bills and wages of the employees. I believe that if museums do not do this it will be impossible to maintain museums especially those that do not receive financial assistance from the government.

The major drawback this could cause is the reduction in the number of visitors. If museums charge money from the tourists this would be a reason for them not to visit the museum. Another thing is that the people who belong to the lower class of the society might not be able to see the various collections of the things in the past because they do not money to pay the fee. For instance, when the museum in our nearby town started charging fees the number of local visitors decreased because they can not afford paying the fee. However, this disadvantage could be solved by charging an affordable fees and providing discounts to certain groups of people.

In conclusion, while asking for admission fees might discouraged people to visit museums, however, my opinion without the money collected from them it would be difficult for museums to maintain its operation.