Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

The museum is a historical and educational place visited by people of all ages, some of which are opened to the public free of charge while some ask visitors to pay the entry fee. The essay is to pinpoint the advantages and disadvantages to this policy, which charging museum visitors before concluding how it is positive.

Admittedly, the drawbacks attached to the requirement to buy ticket for museum visits are definite. Firstly, the regulation may discourage students and low-income families from visiting those historical places since they have more choices without admission, such as watching documentary films to learn about history. This will limit the access to the exhibitions of artifacts and historical works, and consequently, reduce the interest in their country's history. Secondly, museums mostly run by state funds for education purposes, so charging fee to make it commercial and therefor lose the original purpose of its construction.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned drawbacks associated with tickets are applied, I am convinced that they are eclipsed by the following benefits. The initial reason is to boost service quality in museum because we have funds to upgrade facilities, redecorate or employ security guards. Also, museum will become only visitors who want to learn more about history, because those wanting to find a recreational place will opt for parks, shopping malls or supermarkets which are free rather than museums. The final benefit is to ease the burden the government budget. If museum tickets are not applied, there should be also no charged for a range of other public facilities as temples, zoos and stadiums, which seem to impractical.

In conclusion, despite some negative effects of applying entrance ticket to museum, I still believe that they are overshadowed by more positive impacts.