Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common knowledge that there are museums where a certain amount of money is required for admission to get their services, while others can offer visitors cost-free visits. In my viewpoint, charging museum visitors for entry can yield more benefits than drawbacks.

One of the apparent advantages of having visitors charged for admission is that the money would be diverted into museum maintenance and renovation. Objectively speaking, the management panel of a museum needs to have a budget to pay for its expenses, including operating costs like wages for the staff or renovating ones like infrastructure upgrades, especially for older museums. Also, exhibits such as paintings or artefacts need to be conserved and restored, which demands a large amount of money. Even though museums are a public service, they cannot solely count on the financial supply from city authorities. Therefore, admission fees are essential as an additional source for their budget to operate swimmingly.

Another benefit of admission fees is that they will be used for museum innovation. Only some museums have been built in the last few years when technological advances are starting to be applied in public services. Take Louvre Museum, built in 1793, as an example. If technology were not used in its infrastructure to provide its visitors with virtual reality, it might not be able to maintain its level of attraction. Therefore, to meet that demand, there should be an amount of money for which admission fees can be a source.

Opponents of museum entrance fees claim that charging people for admission can discourage visitors. Since not everyone can afford museum tickets, it may prevent people from being entertained and educated. Nevertheless, I believe admission fees are worth the visitors' experience since they can ensure the high quality of the visit, which aims to retain more attention.

In conclusion, I assume getting people charged for admission before their experience in a museum can be advantageous rather than disadvantageous.