In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are waves of resident immigration from rural to urban areas, particularly modern cities, in several nations, causing a reduced population in the countryside. From my perspective, this trend would be virtually negative, and I would argue for my notion in the following essay.

Firstly, regarding rural areas where this development has decreased their number of residents, it can lead to a massive lack of labour. A vast number of rural youngsters decide to leave their hometown to settle in a faraway city permanently for a better job prospect. This declined proportion of the youth can mean an increasing percentage of those in their middle and old ages in the population of the countryside, where there majorly is intensive manual labour work, such as agriculture and handicrafts. As a result, it cannot meet the essentially required amount of labour force for those jobs since letting the elderly work hard is risky. Also, as an unwanted consequence of the lack of labour, the economic gap between the countryside and cities might be extended wider.

Secondly, in urban areas, especially cities, the immigration of rural citizens can pose several severe socioeconomic issues. Initially cited as a problematic influence of this trend is the heavier pressure on urban systems of public service. In other words, the more citizens move from rural to urban regions, the more potentially overloaded medical and educational systems or accommodations can be. In addition, more population in a city can mean fewer opportunities for the citizens, particularly the young. Therefore, the problem of the high unemployment rate in big cities might be getting more complicated. Furthermore, in some cities, many people who have just migrated to the city do not know much about modern life, so sly organizations easily deceive them. In this respect, migration from rural areas can increase city crime rates.

In conclusion, the migration trend from rural to urban regions can give rise to many detrimental effects and, therefore, should be considered disadvantageous, in my opinion.