Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern times, with the support of technological advances, universities and colleges tend to offer degrees through online courses rather than lecturers at traditional face-to-face classes. While this trend may objectively induce particular drawbacks, it can yield more significant benefits from my perspective.

Unbiasedly, the pursuit of online education appears unappealing for some reasons. Among the grounds to support this view is the lack of direct interactions between teachers and students, clearly beyond the capability of any social connection on the Internet. Teachers conducting their online lectures can face challenges when monitoring their students’ performance, while learners can have difficulty exchanging information with their lecturers whenever in need. Besides, traditional classrooms can better equip students with a suitable environment which is diverse in educational tools, academic materials and extracurricular activities, which can enhance their potential for progression and improve their emotional and social development. Therefore, students attending online courses could not access such resources.

Nevertheless, distance learning should be strongly advocated for several reasons, in my opinion. One of the significant advantages it can yield is the ability to produce ready access to the world of knowledge for people of all classes and ages. Thanks to various online courses, more mature students can pursue tertiary education, resulting in better employment possibilities in the future. In addition, without additional expenses on educational facilities such as classrooms or teaching equipment, universities and colleges could provide their courses of study at a significantly lower cost than previously. This could lead to more educational opportunities for the general population, which leads to the development of economic and social aspects of the society.

In conclusion, although the trend of universities and colleges offering qualifications through online learning rather than traditional teaching method can result in specific drawbacks from an objective perspective, the advantages of this trend are much more significant.