Q14. Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the impact of remote education on university and college students has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to earning a degree through distance reading for students, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students can benefit a great deal from receiving tertiary education on the Internet do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of distance learning has revolutionised the way students attend their classes with greater ease regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, students are able to save time as they do not need to commuting to and from school. In fact, travelling to and from school often deprives students huge amounts of time and energy that would otherwise spent on dedication to their studies.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of receiving higher education on the Internet are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that university and college are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their majors since students often have difficulty receiving instant feedback and advice from their professors, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their academic performance. Furthermore, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their colleagues as well as senior students helping them to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. This is mainly because they are incapable of mingling with their classmates in person, which may hinder them from feeling a sense of belonging to their schools and enhancing their bonds.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of gaining a bachelor's or master's degree through remote education surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.