Q14. Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of tertiary education on the Internet has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to earning a degree by receiving remote education, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students can benefit a great deal from receiving distance learning do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of remote education has revolutionised the way students take lectures regardless of time and place with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, students are able to save time since they do not need to travel to and from school. In fact, commuting to and from school deprives students of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on dedication to their studies.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of gaining bachelor's or master's degrees on the Internet is more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that students often have difficulty having a tight grasp of their majors given that online classes often prevent students from receiving instant feedback and advice from their professors. To be more specific, a multitude of students are more likely to struggle to revise for their exams, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their academic performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their colleagues as well as senior students who helps them to develop interpersonal skills. To be more specific, mingling with others at university enables students not only to feel a sens of belonging but also strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of earning university or college degrees through remote education surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.