Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Universities and colleges prefer students to enroll in online courses for qualifications instead of the traditional face-to-face teaching. While this approach has its merits and drawbacks, I assume that its drawbacks outweigh the benefits since it is a less effective method of learning compared to the conventional approach.

Online teaching is beneficial to students in many aspects. Regarding time, distance learning is less time-consuming than traditional classroom instruction as students can join online classes instead of commuting to university campus to attend a lesson. Moreover, online classes are convenient to students who are working and studying at the same time. Given that sessions can be recorded, students unable to attend the class due to part-time jobs are still able to learn by rewatching the videos.

However, online learning has some drawbacks that might affect students’ experience and quality of studying. Since it requires a stable Internet connection to access online classes, the teaching quality of lecturers might be affected by the absence of a secure connection. Therefore, it can be an inefficient educational method for students, limiting access to specialized knowledge from teachers. Furthermore, distance learning prevents students from interacting with peers and instructors as their attendance is solely focused on acquiring knowledge rather than other interpersonal aspects . Interaction with friends and teachers can help students develop social skills and improve their abilities significantly by seeking guidance from various sources when facing difficulties on the journey of learning. Thus, the omission of this element implies a missed opportunity to cultivate companionship, which is a crucial skill for their career endeavours .

In conclusion, online studying can have many benefits for students, learning as it saves time and can be convenient for working students because it allows them to rewatch recorded lessons when they cannot attend. However, in my opinion, I believe that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages since distance learning cannot ensure a productive studying method for students as well as obstructs them from social interactions with others, which is vital to their future careers.