Q : More and more children are accessing the Internet unsupervised. This can sometimes put them at risk. What problems do you think parents face when dealing with their children using the Internet? How can this problem be solved?

Recently, the impact of children's use of the Internet without parental guidance on both children and society has become the subject of heated debate. There are several problems caused by this phenomenon, such as juvenile delinquency, and various measures could be taken by parents to alleviate this issue, including controlling the maximum amount of time spent online by children. In this essay, I will explain the problems stemming from this undesirable trend and present some solutions to the problems.

It seems difficult to deny that several related problems can be anticipated as children can make use of the Internet with greater ease. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that the majority of children exposed to harmful and obscene information are more likely to commit copycat crimes since they are less able to distinguish right from wrong. This can even lead to an increase in the youth crime rate. Another grave issue is that youngsters are vulnerable to becoming addicted to the Internet considering that they have difficulty controlling themselves, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their academic performance.

There are, however, several courses of action that parents could take to address the problems described above. The most practical solution could be for parents to install programmes helping to block violent and unsuitable information, which would make it possible for children to have only access to educational or proper materials on the Internet. A second feasible solution would be for parents to set a time limit for children's use of the Internet because it can prevent their children from devoting huge amounts of time and energy to using the Internet.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems can be tackled with various steps. If parents make an effort, not only can they educate their children, but they are also able to combat potential problems.