Q5: It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the question of how to understand the culture of other places has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel abroad so as to understand other cultures, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that taking trips to foreign countries enables people to have a deeper understanding of different cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that visiting overseas nations makes it possible for travellers not only to communicate with locals in person but also to mingle with them, acquiring vivid knowledge about local cultures. In addition, some materials, including books and movies, often present biased information as they include the intentions of writers or producers, which prevents readers from understanding cultures precisely. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that firsthand experience is much more beneficial for learning about cultures than secondhand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that travelling overseas is the sole way to have a tight grasp of foreign cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people reap a huge amount of information regardless of time and place with greater ease. Moreover, people can even obtain cultural knowledge about the place that they cannot visit in this technologically advanced era. As an illustration, a cultural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea that has numerous endangered species of birds hindered tourists from entering the natural habitat in 2015. However, people are able to find information about the site by using various methods, including the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.