Q5 : It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the question of how to understand the culture of other places has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel abroad in order to learn about other cultures, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling overseas makes it possible for people to have a deeper understanding of different cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that paying a visit to foreign countries enables travellers not only to communicate with locals in person but also to mingle with them, leading tourists to acquire vivid knowledge about local cultures. In addition, some materials, such as books and movies, often present biased information given that these include the intentions of writers or producers, preventing readers from understanding cultures precisely. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that firsthand experience is much more beneficial for learning about foreign cultures than secondhand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that taking trips to foreign nations is the sole way of having a tight grasp of different cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people have access to a huge amount of information about the places that they are incapable of visiting with greater ease regardless of time and place. To exemplify, a cultural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea that has a myriad of endangered species of birds prevented tourists from entering the site since an astronomical amount of garbage generated by visitors posed a threat to the natural habitat. However, people are able to find cultural knowledge about the habitat owing to various methods, such as the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.