Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

While referring students, most people think about homework at the drop of a hat as it has become an indispensable part of their schooling. There are, therefore, also many views that differ on its importance. Some think that teachers should not assign homework to their students mostly because of its impracticality, while others claim that they should since it plays a crucial role in students' education. Personally, although the former view is valid to a certain extent, I am still in favour of the latter one. In this essay, I will discuss both of them in detail.

On the one side of the argument, there are reasons against giving homework to students. Firstly, homework makes most students demotivated. At school, some students usually feel tired and uncomfortable. After studying at school, they have to continue attending extra classes, which make them tenser. At home, they must also complete exercises and assignments they get from school and their extra classes, and they turn out to be exhausted. The process is repeated day by day in their life and becomes their "automatic" routine. If they keep studying like that, they are no longer interested in studying. It results in more serious negative consequences in the future. Instead of spending all their time on homework, they should have more free time to relax on their own to mentally recover. Besides, students' physical health is as important as their studies. Typically, it takes plenty of time to finish homework. This means there is not enough time for them to do regular exercise to keep fit. Therefore, they may be lazy, passive and easy to have diseases. Moreover, while improving academic knowledge, students also need to train soft skills and social skills to adapt to such a harsh and highly demanding world. Homework almost only focuses on revising lessons and doing exercises for practice. As a consequence, less homework means more time to develop their soft and social skills.

However, I do not think that these arguments stand up to my scrutiny since I assume that students' education should include homework. The first and most important reason for it is that it helps students build up a responsible attitude towards their learning. Schooling, in particular, and studying, in general, are about progress. If a student's study improves every day, he/ she will gradually obtain more and more success and realize his/ her dream. An accountable attitude is one of the tools of the trade to do that, and homework is an effective reminder that helps them review the previous lessons and put them into practice through exercises. Another reason is that homework enhances problem-solving skills. In essence, doing homework equally means finding a way to solve the exercises by using logical thinking. It provides students with problem-solving life skills. Also, it develops students' teamwork skills. Some homework is assigned aiming to train them to collaborate with other people. Through it, they will learn to work with their colleagues effectively in real-life jobs. Furthermore, some students who used to spend much time on games and useless activities had bad performances at school. However, after they pay more attention to homework, they now study better. Consequently, it is true to say that homework is a good way for students to restore their learning abilities

In conclusion, there are both convincing reasons for and against the importance of homework. In my opinion, students should be assigned exercises to do at home. However, teachers had better consider the amount of homework carefully so that not only can students widen their academic knowledge, they also develop essential real-life skills for their future.