We are able to judge people by their appearance.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Views vary differently about whether judgments on others can count on how they look from the outside. I would have an unfavourable opinion of critiquing people by their external appearance from my perspective and stand my approval of judging individuals by other internal aspects, particularly their personality and way of thinking.

Cited to support my notion, making judgments about other people based on their intrinsic facets allow constructive communication to develop. As a saying once stated, “Do not judge a book by its cover,” each individual has more to show about themselves than just appearance. Being unavoidable among most people, judging by looks, by contrast, may prevent them from the need for learning more about others. However, once they decide to take one step closer to their personality and other internal aspects, they might have an improved sense of comfort whenever they are around them, and they can strengthen their relationships via communicating to learn mutually.

Furthermore, though the idea of judging by appearance cannot be denied, it cannot stand up to scrutiny, in my opinion. Opponents of my viewpoint state that looks are essential for the first impression, which can initially spring to mind when they think of others. Nevertheless, I may argue against this view for two reasons. Firstly, critiques based on appearance can be one-sided owing to causing people to underestimate others since they, as mentioned, can allow people to ignore others in the place of knowing more about them with willingness or even caution. Secondly, most often say, “Looks can be deceiving.” In other words, we may misjudge other people if we only rely on their appearance. For instance, someone with tattoos and one with a student look might be associated with rude behaviours and polite acts, respectively. Nonetheless, nobody can ensure that only the tattooed person can be a wrongdoer.

In conclusion, I do not believe that we can critique other individuals through their extrinsic looks and show my virtually entire belief in the opinion of judging others by other intrinsic aspects, such as how they behave or think.