many museums charge for admission while others are free.

do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

We all might have visited several museums in different places, and we might have wondered why some of them are free while some need a purchased ticket for entry. Comparing the benefits and drawbacks of each of these policies, I believe that the benefits are way more as I will explain in this essay.

Paying a sum of money to enjoy visiting a museum can help the responsible people and the staff of the museum to maintain the place and keep it for next generations. For instance, antiques, historical items and buildings are considerably valuable so their maintanance consists of great importance. Moreover, only if museums have enough money will more facilities, such as translation services, be provided for visitors. In this way, people will have a better experience visiting a museum while learning more about the history behind the things they see. To be more precise, only watching some fascinating items is not the sole purpose of a museum; therefore, charging people is required so that the quality of a visit is enhanced.

Although there are several advantages to charging for admission, there is one disadvantage that I can think of. Museums’ entrance being free for the public attracts more people to visit it, hence, a larger proportion of people will gain knowledge about history, which is considered to be a desirable achievement. The more the museums charge visitors, the less they tend to go and visit.

To sum up, it appears to me that collecting money by selling tickets to people can bring more advantages than disadvantages. However, it is up to the museum keepers to decide whether they need the money or not, since some museums are funded by the governments.