Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays we see many people around us making constant effort to learn a foreign language. Some of them believe that the best reason for learning it is either preparing to work in another country or trying to be convenient when traveling. However, this is not accepted by all, as some people argue that these are not the only reasons for learning a language. In this essay I am going to discuss both sides as we will see.

Admittedly, one of the best objectives that can be achieved by learning a foreign language is convenience in communication. Either for work or travel, we all need to communicate with people of the destination country so that we can have a pleasent trip or a successful career. For instance, when traveling, talking to a taxi driver, asking for your room in a hotel, and shopping in that country, all requires knowing their language to some extent. Moreover, lack of sufficient language proficiency may even lead to failure in landing your desired job in another country. for example, many companies around the world have included their language skills as one of their primary requirements for employee recruitment.

On the other hand, there are numerous other benefits to learning a second language. You necessarily do not need to move to a different country so that learning their language becomes meaningful. As is seen, many people study a language to translate foreign books. This can contribute to knowledge exchange between countries and learning about each other’s culture and literature mutually. Another reason can be interpreting as a job. Take the example of politicians who travel to your country from other places and they obviously need an interpreter to assist them with communicating with others.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language consist of several advantages that cannot be limited to traveling and working in another country. I strongly disagree that these two are the only reasons as there are many other evident benefits that a second language can bring.