Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Museums have a large collection of art, historic and science objects, which they provide for educational purposes for the public. Nowadays visitors can enjoy free entrance to many museums worldwide. However, some other museums charge for admission tickets. I believe that charging people for admission has more benefits than drawbacks.

A noticeable disadvantage of fee-paying museums is the possibility of reducing the number of visitors. Actually, people would prefer not to pay, because there are many other museums that they can visit for free. Schools can not arrange educational tours to the local museums, as a result, students are discouraged to visit them and not able to access useful information and knowledge freely. From the museums’ perspective, they cannot attain one of their objectives to educate people. Moreover, they may have to close down as they lose more of their customers.

Despite the disadvantages, I think that charging for admission has a greater number of advantages. Firstly, the extra money from visitors is helping museums continue to operate. They can add new exhibits to their collection, make researches and restore damaged objects. Secondly, they can improve infrastructure, provide guide services for their visitors, keep the place clean and even improve the security measures. People can see that many museums which sell tickets are better and more interesting than those that do not charge for admission.

In conclusion, although I recognize that museums ticket sales can have drawbacks, I believe that museums should remain free and need to operate and improve their services.