Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

While some museums are free, there are many if them having entrance fees. I personally think having to pay to see art in every kind, is necessary and my reasons for this comes as follows.

First of all, I think the main reason behind admission changes is that a museum has a wide range of expenditure; from staff’s paychecks to everyday cleansing and etc. But unfortunately, not all of these costs are provided by governments. Therefore, entrance money is mostly about supplying museum’s costs. Second of all, art conservation is an intense and expensive issue. Museums need to have a high budget for emergency restorations to make sure art pieces are safe and stored in an excellent terms in order to remain for the next generations. Art pieces with hundreds years archaism are even more fragile and in danger, so they require constant care and observation. At the end, all these activities come at huge costs yearly.

On the other hand, some might say that art should be for everyone and since these charges are often expensive, not everybody can afford them. I think they are right and museums should not be the organ that build a huge gap between high-income families and low-income ones. However, there is a majority of different kind of discounts. For instance, students have all year long discount; they should only provide their IDs and they are set. Some museums are free on special occasions and holidays and it’s a great opportunity for people who are low on cash to be able to visit their favorite museums.

By way of conclusion, I think the advantages of admission charges do outweigh the disadvantages. Tickets are necessary and as art is for everybody, I believe that we should pay fees with an open heart. Also, I recommend voluntary donations and silent auctions for wealthy people in exchange for high quality copies of some art pieces.