Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people believe that free public services such as charity works or teaching children should be compulsory in high school, I totally disagree with such heavy responsibility to put on student’s shoulders. My reasons for this are twofold.

Firstly, I believe that forcing young members of a society to work for free during their school time is not fair at all. If students are willing to work during their educations and gain extra experience, I contend that they should be paid a good deal. This will not only provide a great resume later on, for instance when they go to college or they take a course at a university, but also, It will encourages them to be a positive member in their society.

Secondly, Students in high school need their spare time to study and prepare for college and university. Therefore, I don’t think having charity work as a mandatory activity for teenagers would be appropriate. If they are forced to work on their neighbourhood during their free time, I believe this is going to have a negative impact on their future and would jeopardize their whole belief system. In addition, parents send their children to high school to develop more in educational part of their life, not to be obligatory involved with charity works and I don’t think they would accept this kind of responsibility for their kids in order to be paid nothing.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that I am totally disagreed with compulsory unpaid community service in high school. I think it is better if this issue would be considered as a voluntarily work. So, it seems more like an opportunity for the students to take only when they have more free time and want to gain more professional experiences.