Many Offenders commit more crime after serving the first punishments. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problems.

It is alarming that ex-convicts are inclined to commit more crimes after being released from prison. This essay will examine the root causes and propose some ultimate solutions to address the issue.

To begin with, there are several factors attributed to the fact that people with past criminal records tend to recommit a crime, of which discrimination from the public and incomplete rehabilitation programmes introduced by governments are the chief causes. First and foremost, societal discrimination against ex-offenders might hinder them from being recruited, resulting in unemployment. Should those people fail to be employed, they might earn a living illegally such as being an identity fraud that might be remanded in custody. Another contributor to the given issue is the incomplete social reintegration programmes released by governments. Take Vietnam as a prime example, different rehabilitation initiatives are being imposed without raising the public’s awareness of cooperation with the government in helping ex-convicts, which, in turn, makes them isolated and feel useless. As a result, they might commit a crime for the second time.

Counselling ex-convicts before re-entering society is inextricably intertwined with fostering a consciousness of assisting ex-offenders among the public to alleviate the given issue. Regarding the former matter, those with past records of crime might be attending various seminars on unanticipated problems that might occur outside the prison, which will provide them with some ideas to avoid culture shock or pessimistic attitudes towards life. Additionally, it is of paramount importance for the government to raise people's awareness of helping ex-offenders rehabilitate. For instance, those who have an extraordinary willingness to help offenders re-enter society might receive greater health insurance or other benefits package. With the collaboration from the public, ex-offenders might find it easier and motivated to steer clear of crime commitment.

In conclusion, various factors provoke citizens with past criminal records to recommit more crime; however, both governments and individuals can take actions to prevent it from exacerbating.