Many people believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of a modern city.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public transport.

Arguing about both the advantages and disadvantages of the convenient public transportation system is of vital concern to society. Plenty of people claim that a convenient public transport system is important in the current city. The term “ public transport system” tends to be interpreted in many different ways such as train or bus; therefore, defining the term is of vital significance in order to avoid rambling discussion. I focus on “ public transport system” as train and bus. Let me discuss the pros and cons of train and bus.

One of the main advantages of using train and bus is that they are cheap and Eco-friendly. For instance, in Japan, plenty of worker commute by using the train, just because they can save money and their companies pay around half of these fees. The train uses only electricity as its energy (does not emit CO2 and NO2), and so this transportation system does less contaminate environment than cars.

There is little doubt that there are some disadvantages of using them, and the most notable is that the train makes people stressful due to a crowded train. For example, as I mentioned above, most workers commute by train in Japan. Most of them usually use 8:00 train and 18:00 train, and then these trains are extremely crowded. In these crowded trains, people are pushed with each other, and this crowd situation is so stressful.

In conclusion, as outlined in this essay, low cost and ecological transportation system is the most serious advantage of effective transportation system such as train, with the main disadvantage being heavy stress because of its crowdedness. Hopefully, people should not overlook the demerits of an effective transportation system.