Many people believe that film is a less important art than other forms such as literature and painting.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people put forth the argument that movies are less valuable art forms than literature and paintings. I completely disagree with this argument. In my opinion, films have the same artistic value as writings and drawings.

It is true that literature, paintings and sculptures have a much longer history than movies. They are also deeply rooted in the culture and that makes them priceless representation of various eras. For example, literature of each century gives us an accurate description of life in those times. Paintings and sculptures have the same value. Needless to say they are a goldmine of information for historians and anthropologists.

However, it is wrong to measure the historic and aesthetic value of an art form by the number of years it has been in existence. It is true that films are a newer form of art and entertainment. However, just like literature and paintings, films also reflect the era in which they are made. They also showcase the growth of technology. What’s more films are intrinsically linked to literature and there are many filmy adaptations of classic literature. Another advantage that films have over other art forms is that they enjoy mass appeal. Actually, films reach a greater audience than books or other art forms. This popularity itself makes them a valuable form of art and a good medium for conveying socio-cultural messages. Better still, unlike a novel or a drawing, a film is a labour of love of hundreds of artists and technicians and going to cinema is rated as the highest form of entertainment today.

To conclude, I believe that films / movies have the same artistic value as literature and painting. One cannot gauge the value of films merely from the number of years of history they have; nor can one consider them less valuable just because aesthetic preferences differ.