Many people believe that film is a less important art than other forms such as literature and painting.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have paid their attention to art for many years. While many of them consider pictures and works of literature are far more important than film, It cannot be denied that film holds an equal value to other art forms like writings and drawings.

Just like literature, sculptures or paintings, film can be seen as means of conveying and reflecting cultures of different nations or eras. To be more specific, a great number countries has now been employing film in museums and galleries to show their documents about their own traditional customs to audience. For example, in the mausoleum of president Ho Chi Minh, the document footages of his life with a range number subtitles are presented in many areas so that not only the locals but also foreigners can stroll along the aisles and observe the documentaries. It seems that film has the same artistic value as other forms of art.

Another compelling reason is that film has gained the popularity over pictures or other art forms. In more detail, film making has become a multimillion dollar industry that produces many blockbusters each year attracting a huge number of people. To explain, a study conducted by the university of Queensland, Australia shows that more than 40 percent of students who are involved in the study prefer binge-watching films to reading novels. It is clear that we can hardly refute movies’s tremendous attraction to people.

In conclusion, I believe that the significance of film is no less than any other kinds of art forms. Someone could not evaluate movies or fine arts merely based on their preferences nor consider which one is superior than others.