Many people believe that formal ' pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

What is your view of examinations?

Nowadays, goverment and parents always focus on education. They find out some methods to help children study and evaluate their skill more objectively, especially in examination. It is widely believe that formal pen and paper examination are not the best way for testing student. In this essay, I would like to express my view of this method and discuss about its consequences and drawbacks.

As a student, I agree with examination with pen and paper is not the most optimal method. First, this type of testing can reduce natural resources. People have to cut down trees to get woods for making paper. If we do not have enough trees, there will be a lot of disaster. Moreover, pen and paper exams are often predictable, student can prepare by rote learning. This type of exam is kind of writting, they limit some skills such as talking,... and student just learn those skill need for exams with pen and paper. Eventhough this type is not the best method, it still have some advantages.Student who do well in that kind of examination often do well in other types of task, for example assignments... Pen and paper exams are obvious way to show the mark for student. There is just one correct answer and student are easy to evaluate their skills.

Writting exams are not the best method, however, There are still some more ways of testing educantional achievement such as verbal examination, art-related examinations,... Talking about verbal examination, this type of testing is unpredictable, it have all skills and student have to learn all of them. This way can help student master in every aspect. Verbal exam can diminish cheating in examination when testing face to face. But there still have some drawbacks of this examination. Sometimes the result of this exam based on the emotion of student. Some people are not confident when talking with orther people. They can sttuter and the examiner might not understand their ideas exactly so that student can get low mark.

Due to the idea pen and paper testings are not the best option to assess education, we still have others type of examination. People should use flexibly these types to give a good method for student to evaluate themselve.