Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Usages of social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google + etc. have dramatically increased recently with the advancement of technology. Although, it has many detrimental effects on the society but its positive side cannot be neglected. I believe that technology has a significant contribution in bringing people closer around the globe and also as a source of cheap and efficient communication.

Social networking sites play a pivotal role in mitigating communication gap not only in the immediate social circle but also with friends and families in remote areas by sharing their news and updates. Social networking sites provide a rapid and effective way of interaction among people. Furthermore, many social groups exist on such sites which help people to find persons of the same interests and attitudes without confiding them to only geographical boundaries. It has recently been seen that many injustice and social issues were shared in social networking sites and that made a huge impact on authority and that has brought justice to the victims. Social networking sites are a common ground for mass people to share their updates, views and other details. Thus this has created a world without any boundary.

On the other hand, it is often seen that people have become disjointed and fragmented as the social networking sites become prevalent in societies and communities. Youngsters are more receptive to this change would like to spend most of their time on these sites. This has led dire consequences on their physical and psychological health. Moreover, families are greatly affected by this and their social bonding is no more present in contemporary days. People are getting addicted to these websites and thus becoming less social in many cases. Propaganda and fraud relationship have caused many personal and social dilemma.

To sum up, I would like to say that people have become more social and interactive by the use of social networking sites. It gives people a sense of freedom to talk around the world without worrying about the huge cost that incurred previously. However, it has severe negative effects, as most of the people opt to talk using technology than meeting others in person due to their busy lifestyle, it increases the distance in their relationship.