Many people choose to work or live abroad because of the higher standards of living they can find outside their home country. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that high living standards in foreign countries lure many people to them, and they move there in search of better quality of life and employment prospects. While this trend can bring about some positives, I am of the view that they are far outweighed by the drawbacks of immigration.

Life in foreign countries does present people with some benefits that their home country lacks. Firstly, it becomes a lot easier for individuals to meet their materialistic needs, such as driving a luxurious car or dwelling in a beautiful house with all needed amenities, if they emigrate to foreign countries since they can earn and afford more than they used to. This is attributed to higher average wages overseas, usually developed, countries. Secondly, individuals want to move to foreign countries because of far more advanced educational systems. For either immigrants themselves or their children it is a valuable opportunity to acquire knowledge in reputable universities and colleges, gain qualifications, take their dream job and move up the career ladder, in the long run.

However, I believe that the drawbacks of immigration are more significant than the advantages discussed. One of the common issues that immigrants tend to face in their destination countries is culture shock, which is brought about by differences in climate, lifestyles and other differences alike. While the side effects of culture fade away after a while for some people, it takes years for others negatively influencing their lives. In addition, there are things in life that money and high living standards cannot buy, two of which are family and a sense of belonging. It seems impossible for one to immigrate with their extended family, including parents, grandparents and relatives. From my personal experience, I realized this feeling of connectedness to my own people, country and culture having spent 4 months in the US, and decided to spend life in the surroundings of my close people and homeland. In fact, most immigrants are likely to approve of this argument when asked.

While the advantages of earning more money and high quality of education attract most people to emigrate, I think that the disadvantages of immigration much outweigh them. This is because life in foreign countries might not be as easy as it seems, and that certain feelings and values cannot be replaced by anything, from my perspective.