Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This they argue leads to a more satisfying working life.

To what extent do you agree with this view? What other things can people do to have a satisfying working life?

It is true that some people from their early age determine what they want to pursue and if they are willing to spend their whole lives in the same occupation. While I accept that this idea may suit many people, I would argue that others have different ways to seek job satisfaction.

On the one hand, defining a clear career path can result in a satisfying working life. Many people have their dream of who they want to be as an adult since they were in childhood. They usually develop a long-term plan and commit their time and effort to achieve the final goal. This determination might give them a great sense of fulfillment when they complete their resolution and gain expected results from their jobs. For example, many children dream of becoming a doctor, but to make their wish come true, they need to have the relevant qualification and undertake years of training. Since they have to invest most of their early adulthood into one professional job to reach their goals, they might find these attempt so rewarding and then have no intention of changing their fulfilling profession.

On the other hand, today many people have different opinions around career path and workforce ‘s contenment in life. One perspective is that not everyone finds their dream occupation at their early age. Thus, it is a common thought that people should try a variety of jobs before making a firm decision about their pursuing career. Another argument is that working at a position for a long time might create boredom and lack of creativity among employees. This will have a detrimental effect on productivity at work and then, lead to less fulfillment in working life. Besides, other people also regard the working environment as the most important factor to the job satisfaction, not a profession itself. For example, well-developed relationships with colleagues, open-minded boss or vigorous business culture are among significant contributors to a happy working life.

In conclusion, following a particular career for the entire life might contribute to contentment at work. However, I believe this is not the only route for everyone to achieve happiness in their working life.