Many people do not feel safe either at home or they are out. What are the causes, and what can be done to make people feel safer?

Community security always a heated topic among the public. Although in many areas, security has been improved, there are still a number of people concern about their safety whether inside or outside their homes. This essay will delve into the causes and give some suggestion in the end.

First of all, many residents concern about their safety is mainly caused by the following aspects. To begin with, people are exposed to violent and sexual environment frequently. For instance, movies and television programme that glorify violence may confuse people’s realization of reality. This may lead them lack of truth to others, especially in the youth group. Secondly, people who living in some particular areas that crime rates are higher than other places will suffer more. That is because in such areas crimes like robbery or shoplifting are more likely occurred than other peaceful areas. Last but not least, lack of communication between neighbours is considered as the most important factor that caused the fear emotion. People are too busy to participate in the community activities and many people even do not realize who live in the next door. This result in the loss of community belonging and dependence among the public.

On the other hand, there are several strategies could be done in order to relieve folks’ emotion of fear. Firstly, governments should publish a new policy to limit the appearance of violent images to the public as well as enhance the police force against the crime. This will help to reduce the crime rates and create an increasingly safer community which people could enjoy the comfortable atmosphere and no longer to worry about safety. In terms of individuals, people should encourage themselves to participate in community activities more. The reason for this is that if people are surrounded by a familiar person, then they may feel safer compared to before even did not who is their neighbours.

In conclusion, this essay argued the possible reasons that may cause the fear of emotion among some people and some solutions could be taken. Governments and individuals should work together to create a safer community.