Many people have difficulty finding work that they enjoy doing. What are the reasons for this and what can people do to find enjoyable careers?

Include any relevant explanations and examples from your own experience?

It is every persons dream to have a job of their own interests. These are the jobs people have a desire to do and to invest their energy in, as much as 40 hours a week, often smiling and feeling positive while working. In this way, people are more productive and enjoy a high quality of life. I believe the reason people find it hard to pursue enjoyable careers is they lack education credentials, job opportunities, and financial incentives. However, these hurdles can be overcome through higher-level academics and business growth.

Fundamentally, many people dream of having jobs that are quite limited in availability and require a specific skill set that can be gained only through advanced education. In addition, they may feel that even with having such a job they cannot earn as much as they want. Certain high-end jobs are only one in a thousand and require at least a master's degree and often Ph.D. to be eligible. Even with such jobs, in many countries, finances may still be challenging and people opt for better paying work that they may not like. In my case, in Cuba, it takes seven years of university to become a doctor and there are only 100 new job openings per year in this field, but a taxi driver can make more money commuting tourists to various destinations and there are thousands of available positions. These are definite challenges that need to be overcome for people to find work that they are excited about doing.

Fortunately, there are ways that people can earn the job that gives them a great deal of life satisfaction through continued education and business venture. Hard working individuals can identify work that makes them feel happy and then pursue such a career by finishing university and having competitive skills to position themselves in their desires field. Once there, they can increase their revenue by ten-fold or more through building a company around their passion. A Cuban who dreams of becoming a doctor should finish medical school and then establish their own clinic in order to make more money and pursue their dream career. In this way, they can earn more than taxi driver and be happy doing it.

In conclusion, people most often have difficulties finding likable work because of low pay, availability, and education. Nevertheless, through academic and business perseverance these challenges can be overcome. Ideally, for a truly fulfilling life every person is passionate about the work they do on a daily basis.