Many people say that we now live in ‘consumer societies’ where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion. (-Syerap

It is widely argued that consumerism is promoting materialistic tendencies among people while as per others it signifies success and high standard of living. In my opinion, increased consumerism does not guarantee satisfaction and happiness within people. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this development.

To begin with, the rise of consumerism certainly depicts the growth in the economy. As a result, people are able to afford more luxury cars, houses, and other facilities to lead a comfortable life. Also, as the economy is growing more jobs are being created, hence a lower rate of unemployment. For example, some developing countries like India, uncountable jobs are emerging and youth of the country is earning more than before thus the poverty is reducing in the country. Additionally, consumerism also provides people with more choices, because to win the customer companies are developing innovative and creative products. For instance, Coca Cola and Pepsi are introducing a wide range of beverage flavors every day to lure their customers. Further, malls and shopping complexes are running sales, discounts, and promotions which enable users to purchase much more in less amount of money.

On the flip side, people are feeling more stressed due to the competition. It is evident that people are becoming more money minded and they started measuring the success with possessions. Furthermore, to display themselves thriving and to bestow expensive goods and services, people are working too much and not able to enjoy their personal lives. In addition to this, with countless sales, people are buying unnecessary items and causing clutters at their homes which is a complete waste of money. Moreover, it also encouraging throwing away culture, as soon as people witness a new product they immediately order it and get rid of the older products. With such a rat race, people do not feel content and often feel distressed and unhappy.

To recapitulate, undoubtedly, the quality of life has become better with increased consumerism, however, people are barely enjoying their materialistic possessions and chasing new merchandise. In my opinion, the cons certainly outweigh the pros.