Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that advances in the field of communication have adversely affected people’s personal and professional relationships. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint for some justifications below.

I am convinced that innovations in technology do not exist to the detriment of social relationships, but rather to their benefit. To embark on, as new ways of communicating with one another (such as smartphones or computers) are introduced, some fear that people might become socially isolated as this change may discourage real interaction among people. Nevertheless, this claim is exaggerated. This is because electronic devices have facilitated communication among people regardless of geographical distance. For example, during the current situation of COVID-19 pandemic, the Internet allows people to stay connected with others through various social media such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc without going out to meet in person.

Equally importantly, I am also of the opinion that not only does advanced communication technology address the problem of distance aforementioned but it also helps to expand social circles. For instance, in earlier times, people used to come to clubs first-hand to meet and exchange with those who share the same taste, which is quite time-consuming and inconvenient. These days, however, people with the same passion can participate in online pages to make friends with those from other places and get to know each other through virtual platforms, which is a salient example of how technology can help promote interaction among people.

By way of conclusion, there are sufficient grounds to reject the view that social relationships have been jeopardized by the advent of technological breakthroughs in communication.