WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times.

Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

Write at least 250 words.

Over the past fifty years, there has been a widely held perception that educational standards are in decline. In the following essay, I will elucidate the justifications for this, followed by some feasible solutions.

First and foremost, it is an irrefutable fact that technological advancements have had an adverse impact on student learning. To embark on, with the aid of calculators or websites on the Internet, an increasing number of students are relying so much on these sources that they are deprived of such core skills as numeracy and literacy. A salient example is the current issue of plagiarism occurring among children, leaving them unable to brainstorm as well as fully address difficulties when growing up. Another contributing factor is lack of practical knowledge among children. In other words, as students only learn by heart what they study at school without putting theoretical lessons into practice, they are highly likely to forget those materials shortly and thus have trouble practicing in later life.

In order to stem the tide of falling educational standards, it is first crucial for schools, especially primary ones, to tighten up regulations about prohibiting the use of calculators in examinations or giving students assignments unavailable on the Internet. Admittedly, although technology has facilitated our studies considerably, I would contend that those principles would aid in the development of children's lateral thinking. One further viable solution would be for teachers to give students more opportunities to put knowledge into practice. For instance, if students are encouraged to work on projects together, they would develop not only deeper understandings but also better relationships with classmates.

By way of conclusion, technology and lack of experience should be responsible for the decline in educational quality. Nonetheless, this trend can be significantly mitigated by stricter regulations as well as group activities in school.