Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that in this era of technological advancements, it is no longer for the government to allocate resources to maintaining traditional libraries. In my opinion, whereas it is true in some respects, libraries still have a crucial role to play in this modern world.

On the one hand, with rapid progress in smartphone and computer engineering, it has become less time-consuming for users to acquire knowledge. In other words, in earlier times, people used to spend a lot of time looking for relevant materials to support their study in the library. These days, nevertheless, with search engines on the Internet, people could gain access to any sources of information at the click of a button, which is especially convenient for busy workers in today’s hectic life. Furthermore, if e-libraries are promoted on a large scale, the expenses for libraries to function properly will be reduced substantially. As a result, more money could be contributed to other important fields such as education, medicine, and science.

On the other hand, I also believe that public libraries are of great significance. Firstly, physical libraries provide much more reliable sources of data. This is because before books are published, they must undergo strict censorship conducted by experts to ensure the accuracy of written information. Information on the Internet, in contrast, can sometimes be misleading and untrustworthy as there is no restriction to people’s activities on the virtual platform. Secondly, traditional libraries bring about a feeling of motivation. For example, the ambiance and professional atmosphere of many libraries make students concentrate better on their study, which is extremely useful when they want to carry out a research project or complete a graduate thesis.

By way of conclusion, while I agree that technology has brought about some advantages, physical libraries do have their own beneficial impacts and therefore should not be removed in the future.